

NEWS

1920 L Street, NW • Suite 200 • Washington, DC 20036 202.785.0266 • Fax 202.785.0261

W W W . A T R . O R G

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 16 JANUARY 2006 CONTACT: John Kartch Sandra Fabry 202-785-0266

2005 Friends of the Taxpayer

Taxpayer Advocacy Group names friends and enemies of the taxpayer for 2005

WASHINGTON, DC – Americans for Tax Reform today released its 2005 Friend/Enemy of the Taxpayer Roll Call.

The following people were awarded "Friend of the Taxpayer":

JAN: IN State Rep. Jeff Espich – for taking tax increases off the table as an option to balance Indiana's budget

FEB: FL State Pledge signers – for their consistent year-long opposition to higher taxes.

MAR: MS State Sen. Alan Nunnelee – for single-handedly killing a tax increase by not allowing it for a vote in committee.

APR: **MS** Gov. Haley Barbour – for declaring early on that he would veto any tax increase, thereby shoring up support for his pro-taxpayer stance in the Senate.

MAY: IL State Sen. Peter Roskam – for taking the lead in derailing HB 755, a huge tax increase.

JUN: OK's pro-taxpayer legislators – for passing the biggest tax cut in the history of the state.

JUL: KS State Sen. Tim Huelskamp - for his efforts to defeat tax hikes and his work to pass an amendment curbing the court's power to legislate from the bench.

AUG: MN State Rep. Phil Krinkie – for fighting the governor's cigarette tax increase, and resigning from the conference committee out of principle.

SEP: OK State Rep. Thad Balkman – for leading the charge against the gas tax increase, which was rejected by a vote of the people at a margin of 87% to 13%.

OCT: MI's pro-taxpayer representatives – for passing a \$1 billion tax cut package to jumpstart the sluggish economy.

NOV: ME taxpayer activist Mary Adams – for collecting enough signatures to place a TABOR-style tax and expenditure limitation on the 2006 ME ballot.

DEC: OK State Sen. Randy Brogdon – for collecting enough signatures to place a TABOR-style tax and expenditure limitation on the 2006 OK ballot.

"All these people have one thing in common," said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform in Washington, DC. "They have displayed great leadership in protecting taxpayers' interests, and their efforts are worthy of the "Friend of the Taxpayer Award."

To see the 2005 "Enemies of the Taxpayer', please visit: http://www.atr.org/pledge/heroesandenemies/index.html.

Americans for Tax Reform (ATR) is a non-partisan coalition of taxpayers and taxpayer groups who oppose all federal, state and local tax increases. For more information or to arrange an interview, please contact John Kartch at (202) 785-0266 or at jkartch@atr.org.