HQ U.S. Army Installation Management Agency, Europe Region



Public Affairs Office Unit 29353, Box 200 APO AE 09014 69033 Heidelberg DSN 370-7549/7235 Tel.: 06221-57-7549/7235

PRESS RELEASE

Feb. 1, 2005

HQ IMA-E Announces MG Keith L. Ware Journalism Award Winners for 2004

HEIDELBERG, GE – Headquarters, Installation Management Agency-Europe completed its second annual competition in Heidelberg for the 2004 Keith L. Ware Journalism Awards, Jan. 26-28, 2005, with more than 115 entries from across the theater.

A panel of four skilled public affairs practitioners with decades of command information experience reviewed print and broadcast submissions.

First place winners noted below will be forwarded to the Department of the Army Public Affairs for consideration in the Army-wide competition. The IMA-E 2004 winners are:

PRINT CATEGORY

CATEGORY B: Tabloid-Format Newspaper

1st Place: Herald Union (104th ASG-Hanau)
2nd Place: The Point (98th ASG-Wuerzburg)
3rd Place: The Citizen (6th ASG-Stuttgart)

CATEGORY E: News Article

1st Place: Scott Rouch (98th ASG-Wuerzburg)
2nd Place: Rick Haverinen (80th ASG-Chievres, BE)
3rd Place: Lisa Eichhorn (235th BSB-Ansbach)

CATEGORY F: Feature Article

1st Place: Jayme Loppnow (233rd BSB-Darmstadt)

2nd Place: Karl Weisel (104th ASG-Hanau) 3rd Place: David Ruderman (104th ASG-Hanau)

Honorable Mention: Cassandra Kardeke (221st BSB-Wiesbaden)

-MORE-

KLW IMA-E WINNERS 2004/2-2-2

CATEGORY G: Commentary

1st Place: Hugh C. McBride (6th ASG-Stuttgart) 2nd Place: Christine June (415th BSB-Kaiserslautern) 3rd Place: Rick Haverinen (80th ASG-Chievres, BE)

CATEGORY H: Sports Article

1st Place: Michael S. Mowrer (26th ASG-Heidelberg) 2nd Place: Mark Iacampo (100th ASG-Grafenwoehr) 3rd Place: Karl Weisel (104th ASG-Hanau)

CATEGORY I: Story Series

1st Place: Capt. Junel Jeffrey (221st BSB-Wiesbaden) 2nd Place: Christine June (415th BSB-Kaiserslautern) 3rd Place: David Ruderman (104th ASG-Hanau) Honorable Mention: Melanie Casey (6th ASG-Stuttgart)

CATEGORY J: Single/Stand-Alone Photograph

1st Place: Diana Bahr (22th ASG-Vicenza, IT) 2nd Place: Rick Haverinen (80th ASG-Chievres, BE) 3rd Place: F. Neil Neeley (80th ASG-Chievres, BE)

CATEGORY K: Photojournalism

1st Place: Christine June (415th BSB-Kaiserslautern) 2nd Place: Hugh C. McBride (6th ASG-Stuttgart) 3rd Place: Melanie Casey (6th ASG Stuttgart)

CATEGORY L: Contribution by Contractor/Stringer (Writer)

1st Place: Tom Larscheid (80th ASG-Chievres, BE)2nd Place: John-Paul Blanchard (80th ASG-Chievres, BE)
3rd Place: Capt. Erik S. Archer (104th ASG-Hanau)

CATEGORY M: Contribution by Contractor/Stringer (Photographer)

1st **Place:** Gene Knudsen (26th ASG-Heidelberg) 2nd Place: Midori VanBrunt (414th BSB-Hanau)

CATEGORY N: Art/Graphics in Support of a Publication

No recognition awarded

CATEGORY Q: Moss-Holland Civilian Journalist of the Year

1st Place: Hugh C. McBride (6th ASG-Stuttgart) 2nd Place: David Ruderman (104th ASG-Hanau) 3rd Place: Alexandra Williams (284th BSB-Giessen)

CATEGORY S: Special Achievement in Print Media

1st Place: The Citizen – Election 2004 (6th ASG-Stuttgart)

2nd Place: Herald Union – Special Editions on Iraq (104th ASG-Hanau) 3rd Place: Benelux Meteor – History Edition (80th ASG-Chievres, BE)

KLW IMA-E WINNERS 2004/3-3-3

BROADCAST CATEGORY

<u>CATEGORY C: Radio Report</u> Honorable Mention: Rick Haverinen (80th ASG-Chievres, BE)

CATEGORY N: Command Information Plan

First Place: Donna Dean (221st BSB-Wiesbaden)