

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'éducation, la science et la culture

7, place de Fontenoy 75352 Paris 07 SP Tel. : + 33.(0) 1.45.68.15.71 Fax : + 33 (0) 1.45.68.55.70 E-mail: f.bandarin@unesco.org

22 Sept 03

Ref. CL/WHC.11/03

То:	All States Parties to the World Heritage Convention
Cc:	Advisory Bodies to the World Heritage Committee (ICOMOS, ICCROM and IUCN)
Subject:	Provisional list of candidates for the election of members to the World Heritage Committee, to be held during the 14th General Assembly of States Parties to the <i>World Heritage Convention</i> (Paris, 14-15 October 2003)

Madam/Sir,

By my letter CL/WHC.8/03 of 29 July 2003, I invited States Parties to inform me whether they intended to stand for election to the World Heritage Committee at the 14th General Assembly of States Parties to the *World Heritage Convention* (Paris, 14-15 October 2003). During the 14th General Assembly, **eight new members**¹ of the World Heritage Committee² will be elected. **One of these eight seats** will be reserved for States Parties with no properties inscribed on the World Heritage List (see Annex I for list of these States Parties). The provisional list of States Parties (as of 15 September) that are candidates for election to the World Heritage Committee is as follows:

AFRICA	ARAB	ASIA AND	EUROPE AND	LATIN AMERICA
	STATES	THE	NORTH AMERICA	AND THE
		PACIFIC		CARIBBEAN
Benin	Algeria	Japan	Georgia	Chile
Gabon	Kuwait	Kazakhstan	Lithuania	Dominican Republic
Kenya	Syrian Arab	New Zealand	Netherlands	
	Republic			
Madagascar			Norway	
Mali			Serbia and Montenegro	
Namibia			Slovakia	
Togo			Spain	
Uganda			Turkey	
United Republic			Ukraine	
of Tanzania				

¹ The out-going members of the World Heritage Committee are Belgium, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Thailand and Zimbabwe.

 $^{^{2}}$ For the procedure on the election of members of the World Heritage Committee, see Rule 13 of the *Rules of Procedure* of the General Assembly.

Candidates are reminded that "any State Party to the Convention which is in arrears with the payment of its compulsory or voluntary contribution for the current year and the calendar year immediately preceding it shall not be eligible as a Member of the World Heritage Committee [...]" (Article 16.5 of the *World Heritage Convention*). For an updated statement of compulsory and voluntary contributions to the World Heritage Fund, country-by-country, see document WHC-03/14.GA/INF.7 Add. (http://whc.unesco.org/archive/2003/whc03-14ga-inf07eAdd.pdf).

In this regard, please note that the World Heritage Committee, at its 27th session (Paris, 30 June-5 July 2003), recommended to the General Assembly that a Rule be included in its *Rules of Procedure* indicating that the list of candidates to the World Heritage Committee shall be finalised 48 hours before the beginning of the election. No other candidates nor payment of compulsory and voluntary contributions (for the purpose of presenting a candidate to the Committee) will be accepted after this time (see Decision **27 COM 18A.2**).

In addition, a revised list of candidates to the World Heritage Committee (including their statement of contributions to the World Heritage Fund) will be provided at the opening of the 14th General Assembly.

I look forward to seeing you on the occasion of the General Assembly and thank you for your collaboration in this matter.

Please accept, Madam/Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

Bandan

Francesco Bandarin Director UNESCO World Heritage Centre

ANNEX I - LIST OF STATES PARTIES WITH NO PROPERTIES INSCRIBED ON THE WORLD HERITAGE LIST^{*}

Andorra	Liberia
Angola	Maldive
Antigua and Barbuda	Marsha
Bahrain	Mauriti
Barbados	Micron
Bhutan	Monaco
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Mongol
Burkina Faso	Myanm
Burundi	Namibi
Cape Verde	Niue
Chad	Palau
Comoros	Papua N
Congo	Qatar
Democratic People's Republic of Kore	a Republi
Eritrea	Rwanda
Fiji	Saint L
Gabon	Saint V
Grenada	Samoa
Guyana	San Ma
Iceland	Saudi A
Jamaica	Tajikist
Kiribati	Togo
Kuwait	United .
Kyrgyzstan	Vanuati

/es all Islands ius nesia (Federated States of) o olia nar ia New Guinea lic of Moldova la ucia vincent and the Grenadines arino Arabia tan Arab Emirates tu

^{*} As of 15 September 2003